Take a Quick Look at the Gaming Hall of Fame

The gaming and entertainment industry is a multi-billion dollar industry that spans the entire globe. The total revenue from the world gaming industry is a significant portion of the global economy. It plays a vital role in providing legal gambling and entertainment to the public. Without certain individuals the industry would not be where it is today. As such the industry have felt the need to pay recognition to those who have made a major contribution in the industry, moving it forward and creating a worldwide presence. This is how the Gaming Hall of Fame came into being. It is a prestigious honour that recognises the best of the best.

What is the Hall of Fame?

First established in 1989 by the American Gaming Association (AGA), the Gaming Hall of Fame was designed to honour specific individuals in the entertainment and gaming industry who have distinguished themselves through major contributions to the industry itself. To date there have been more than 70 individuals who have been inducted into the prestigious hall of fame. This is widely considered to be the highest honour in the gaming and entertainment industry and is a much coveted title. Inductees are seen as the people who have made the biggest difference in the industry on a global scale.

The Establishment of the Hall of Fame

When it was first established in 1989, the Gaming Hall of Fame inducted a total of four pioneers of the industry. Included in the first batch was industry legend Warren Nelson who was one of the pioneers of gaming in Reno Nevada. Jay Sarno was also induced, being the person who launched two of the most successful casinos in Las Vegas, notably the Caesars Palace and Circus Circus. William Harrah was part of the first four as he was one of the most influential figures in the gaming and entertainment industry. The fourth individual inducted in 1989 was former Nevada Governor, Grant Sawyer. He was instrumental in the system of gaming regulation in the state of Nevada.

Early Inductees

Some of the early inductees into the Gaming Hall of Fame were from outside the USA. These individuals included James Crosby who was inducted for his pioneering work in the Bahamas and Atlantic City. In 1992, South Africa’s Sol Kerzner was inducted for his ground-breaking developments of Sun City, The lost City, Atlantis and the Mohegan Sun. The first woman to be inducted was the renowned Holiday Casino owner Claudine Williams who paved the way for many woman in the entertainment and gaming industry across the globe.

Notable Inductees over the Years

In the following years, many entertainers were inducted into the Gaming Hall of Fame whose presence was well-known outside the circles of the gaming industry. In the new millennium, more entertainers were inducted including Wayne Newton in 2000, Paul Anka in 2001, Merv Griffin in 2002 and Tom Jones in 2003. The scope of the Hall of Fame was such that it recognised individuals such as the politician Harry Reid in 2001, as well as the comedian Don Rickles and the magician David Copperfield in 2007. Today, the inductees cover the full spectrum of gaming and entertainment industry in the same way, slots cover the gambling action at https://onlineslotsca.net/android.